Eddie Aikau Essay Contest 2011 Winners

C4 Waterman co-founders, Brian Keaulana and Archie Kalepa join the list of world-renowned watermen and women when they are honored by the Duke Kahanamoku Hawaii Waterman’s Hall of Fame on Thursday, August 23rd at the Waikiki Outrigger Canoe Club.

The Waterman’s Hall of Fame acknowledges recipient’s legacies and all that they have represented to Hawai‘i’s ocean sports community. Other recipients this year include famed big-wave surfer and oceanographer Ricky Grigg and Michael Tongg, an instrumental leader in the growth of canoe paddling statewide.

C4 Waterman co-founders, Brian Keaulana and Archie Kalepa

“I am really proud of Brian and Archie and I could not think of any one more deserving of this honor,” said friend and business partner Todd Bradley. “They have spent a lifetime dedicated to the ocean and have made significant impact in not just their community but the surf, rescue and movie industry as well.”

The Hawai‘i Waterman Hall of Fame Awards Dinner is presented by the Outrigger Duke Kahanamoku Foundation (ODKF) and Honolulu Star-Advertiser. Along with paying tribute to the new Hall of Fame honorees, the evening’s festivities will feature a concert by Henry Kapono and music by Maunalua.

“We are honoring truly remarkable watermen who have meant so much to modern-day ocean sports in Hawai‘i and whose influence is seen in generations of young people throughout our islands,” said Tim Guard, event co-chair and ODKF board member.

Table sponsorships seating eight are available for $3,500, $2,500, and $1,000, with individual seats at $65 each. Net proceeds raised will benefit ODKF’s college scholarships and athletic grants program. Tickets and information are available at http://www.DukeFoundation.org.

The Hawai‘i Waterman Hall of Fame was initiated in 2010 to create a lasting tribute to the Hawaiian Islands’ water sports legacy and honor the achievements of Hawai‘i’s standout watermen and waterwomen. The criteria used to select inductees are:

• Keiki o ka ‘äina / keiki o ke kai

• Sustained outstanding contribution to the sport

• International, national and local accomplishment and recognition

Past Hawai‘i Waterman Hall of Fame honorees include Duke Kahanamoku, Eddie Aikau, Wally Froiseth, Fred Hemmings, Buffalo Keaulana, Rabbit Kekai, Keo Nakama, Nappy Napoleon, Rell Sunn, Peter Cole, Ethel Kukea, Aileen Soule, and Nainoa Thompson.

Filed under: aloha, Announcements, Community, Environment, Hawaii, Hawaiian, Sports, State Affairs | Tagged: "Rabbit" Kekai, Aileen Soule, Archie Kalepa, Brian Keaulana, Buffalo Keaulana, Duke Kahanamoku, Eddie Aikau, Ethel Kukea, Fred Hemmings, Hawaii Waterman's Hall of Fame, Keo Nakama, Michaell Tongg, Nainoa Thompson, Nappy Napoleon, Peter Cole, Rell Sunn, Ricky Grigg, Wally Froiseth | 1 Comment »

Kailua Intermediate’s Science and Engineering Department was named HIDOE’s 2015 Team of the Year for their systematic and coordinated teaching approach.  Across all 7th and 8th grade science classes, the team uses a uniform regimen that stresses information management, note taking and the use of interactive notebooks to teach students to be organized and effective in both learning and time management skills.  

The science department’s efforts have created a hands-on learning environment that gives students opportunities to develop their skills in science, technology, engineering and math.  More than 60 students are members of the school’s LEGO robotics team, 30 are part of the marine biology club and 18 female students recently spent a day at the University of Hawaii at Manoa’s College of Engineering where they met with aeronautical and medical engineers and were introduced to medical robotics technology.  Students are also participating in Malama Honua, the worldwide voyage of the Hokulea, with 7th graders tying topics of ecosystems and sustainability to the voyage and 8th graders learning about non-instrument navigation in the “Polynesian Voyaging: Science in the Pacific” curriculum. 

As a result of the Science and Engineering Department’s enthusiasm, Kailua Intermediate’s science proficiency on the state assessment rocketed from 34 to 51 points in one year and the school earned state recognition at the Hawaii Science and Engineering Fair with four student projects advancing to the state level, one earning first place overall in computer sciences and one earning first place overall in physics and astronomy.  The science department is comprised of teachers Kimberly Tangaro, Douglas Howe, Emily Bayne, Catherine Walton, Ryan Kagami, and Steven “French” Clark. 

The Kailua Intermediate Science and Engineering Department will represent HIDOE in the upcoming annual Governor’s Awards for Distinguished State Service ceremony. 


One thought on “Eddie Aikau Essay Contest 2011 Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *